Who is Communion For?

Anabaptists have through history practiced “closed Communion” or “close Communion”. In “closed Communion”, only members of that specific church will partake in Communion together. “Close Communion” allows those of “like-minded faith” to also partake with the congregation.

I personally attend a church that practices “close communion”. As a young believer, I never questioned this. But as I got older and saw how this affected other believers who worshiped with us but did not dress or practice everything that the rest of the congregation did, and I began to wonder about it. I saw the hurt and rejection in their eyes, and I wondered why Communion had to be refused to them. I decided to go to Scripture to see what God’s Word says regarding Communion.communion bible I already knew what our church taught, I knew why they had this particular tradition, but I wanted to see what the Bible itself had to say regarding Communion. I wanted to know why Communion was only for certain believers but not others.

The Body of Christ

From the following verses in 1 Corinthians 10:16-17, two things stood out to me.

16. The cup of blessing which we bless, is it not the communion of the blood of Christ? The bread which we break, is it not the communion of the body of Christ?

17. For we being many are one bread, and one body: for we are all partakers of that one bread.

This phrase in particular seemed to leap out at me: “For we being many are ONE bread, and ONE body: for we are ALL PARTAKERS OF THAT ONE BREAD…”

The first thing that I concluded was that we as Christian believers are all part of the same body of Christ. Different denominations may be different parts of the body, but we are all part of the same body of Christ. We are not many different bodies of Christ. He has only ONE body.

The second thing that I saw is that there is only ONE bread. We are all partakers of that ONE bread. No matter where you partake communion in, when a fellow believer who is part of that ONE body of Christ offers you the communion bread, it represents the same ONE bread that is offered everywhere– in every denomination. That ONE bread represents Christ’s physical body being broken for us. No matter what denomination, all who believe the Bible agree that Christ laid down His life for us and we do this in “remembrance of” Him. (Luke 22:19)

As I read these verses, I also wondered if there was another aspect of Communion that we have missed. Could it be that the Church,one bread one body spread over the world, who now represent Christ’s body, is also supposed to remember that they are all ONE body– because of what He did– as they partake in the communion bread?

Remembering Together

Denominations have differing viewpoints regarding what partaking in Communion does for the believer. Some believe it is a holy ritual that you must partake in order to “stay saved”. Some believe Jesus is physically part of the elements; some believe He is spiritually part of the elements. Mennonites take the view that the elements represent what Christ did only in a symbolic way. But all denominations believe that we remember how Jesus’ body was broken for us and we remember with gratitude that He laid down His life so that we could be forgiven for our sins.

1 Cor. 11:24-26

And when He had given thanks, He brake it and said, Take, eat: this is my body which is broken for you: this do in remembrance of me. After the same manner also He took the cup, when He had supped, saying, This cup is the new testament in my blood: this do ye, as oft as ye drink it, in remembrance of me. For as often as ye eat this bread, and drink this cup, ye do shew the Lords’s death until He comes. (Emphasis mine)

So if all believers have a common belief that we are remembering what Christ has done for us (regardless of differing views of the elements– which is all extra-Biblical anyway), why can’t we just all remember together? Do we as Mennonites believe Christ’s body was broken for only certain believers and not others? If not, than why can we only remember what He did with certain believers and not all?

In both close and closed Communion, we give the bread and wine to only those who believe the same and dress the same as we do. Closed Communion requires that you believe the same as I –on pretty much everything. Close Communion is a little less rigid. Basically, it says you must be Mennonite. (And for conservative groups, that includes only Mennonites that wear a head covering.)

All churches that practice close or closed Communion, can give you a good explanation of why they do, but none have a Scripture reference to back themselves up with. And regardless of their reasons, when another believer visits our church and we do not allow them to participate in Communion with us, this is the unspoken message they receive (or perceive that we are telling them): “We don’t really believe that you are a member of the body of Christ, regardless of what you tell us. You must be a Mennonite in order to prove to us that you are really part of the body of Christ.”

Is this really what we believe? Is this the message we want to give them?

The only other time that Mennonites refuse to give someone communion is when someone is excommunicated. A person who is willfully sinning and refuses to repent–even when they have been confronted (following the Matthew 18) gets excommunicated (following 1 Corinthians 5). Are we equating anyone who is not Mennonite with this?

Excommunication

The passage in 1Corinthians 5 that speaks of excommunication was the source of the schism between the Amish and Mennonites in 1693. Disagreement over whether we are to only withhold Communion or whether we are to socially shun anyone who refused to repent of outward sin was the source of the split.

1Cor. 5:7-13

Purge out therefore the old leaven, that ye may be an new lump, as ye are unleavened. For even Christ our passover is sacrificed for us: Therefore let us keep the feast, not with old leaven, neither with the leaven of malice and wickedness; but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth. I wrote unto you in an epistle not to company with fornicators: Yet not altogether with the fornicators of this world, or with idolaters; or with the covetous, or extortioners, or with idolaters; for then ye must needs go out of this world. But now I have written unto you not to keep company, if any man that is called a brother be a fornicator, or covetous, or an idolater, or a railer, or a drunkard, or an extortioner; with such a one no not to eat. For what have I to do to judge them also that are without? Do not ye judge them that are within? But them that are without God judgeth. Therefore put away from among yourselves that wicked person.

We are not to keep company with, we are not to eat with, and we are to put away from ourselves people who claim to be believers but live in obvious sin.

Whether the phrase “with such a one no not to eat” is speaking of communion or a social meal, the rest of the verses are just as important. If this is speaking of communion, then the rest must also be followed. We are not even to keep company with such a person.

If we have people in our midst that are believers, but we refuse to give them the communion cup because they aren’t members, or because they don’t wear a covering, we cannot use these verses as the reason we are refusing them because we aren’t following all of it.

If it is not speaking of eating communion bread and only speaking of eating a meal together, we must still follow the rest of the commands. We are to “put away from among” us that wicked person. They should not even be in our midst.

DAMNATION

1 Cor. 11:28-29

But let a man examine himself, and so let him eat of that bread, and drink of that cup. For he that eateth and drinketh unworthily, eateth and drinketh damnation to himself, not discerning the Lord’s body.

Does this apply to all believers or only Mennonites? Aren’t we all accountable to God when we participate in Communion? If we have hidden sin in our lives, we “eat and drink damnation” to ourselves. Not to others.

So what are we afraid of when we refuse to give the communion cup to other believers who are not Mennonite? Do we have a fear of what other Mennonites will think? Are we afraid if we give the cup to someone with hidden sin that God will punish us?

Does the possibility of a Mennonite with hidden sin in their lives feel safer to us than a non-Mennonite with possible hidden sin?

7 thoughts on “Who is Communion For?

  1. This is so good. I have shed tears over seeing a new believer being refused Communion, simply because she was not Mennonite. She mostly quit coming to our church, and I can’t say I blame her.

    Thanks for the careful exploration of Scripture and history that I see on this blog! God bless.

    Like

  2. The babtism study is very interesting Ine thing I noticed No one was ever babtised in Father son and Holy Ghost
    Always in Jesus Name or inthe name of our Lord

    Like

  3. Some excellent thoughts here. The last Mennonite church I was a part of held closed communion. To this day, as far as I know, they are still refusing communion to a family who has attended for a number of years, practices modest dress and headcovering, but aren’t members of the church. As though only those who are members of that church are Christians!

    My grandfather, a Mennonite pastor for many years, pointed out that Jesus served communion to Judas Iscariot, even though Judas had already plotted to betray Him and Satan had entered into Judas’ heart. Grandpa believed that was proof that we should leave each person’s worthiness for communion between that person and God.

    This may have come, in part, from an incident that happened during his early years as pastor, when the bishop denied a 17-year-old girl communion because of the way she had been acting at school (nothing that was necessarily sin, just things like hitching up her skirts at school so that they appeared to be shorter). Tragically, she had recommitted her life to Christ that morning and was prepared to take communion. Without warning, the bishop publicly denied her communion. This lady, Sharon, and her brother and sister, were so outraged that they left the church and never came back. All three left the faith. Thankfully, Sharon eventually came back to the Lord, but her brother and sister have not.

    Sharon published her story in a book titled “Behind the Covering”, available on Amazon. You may find it an interesting read.

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing. The fact that we cannot see the thoughts and intents of another person’s heart is probably why we are only to “examine” ourselves and not others. Sounds like your Grandpa was a wise man.

      I’ll have to check out that book. Sounds interesting.

      Like

  4. I have a few comments or questions on the communion post. Growing up in a conservative Mennonite church, going through communion was a fearful drudgery. What if I forgot to confess something? Or worse, I “must” confess something that I did in order to partake, even though it wasn’t a violation of scripture. I never wanted to participate in an event that could bring damnation up me… Who would? But what if the whole concept behind causing damnation is incorrect?
    By partaking in communion are we saying that we have no sin in our lives, or that we have attained a level of Christ-likedness that we are worthy? So I ask the question… What makes me worthy? Making sure all my sins are confessed? Not struggling with anything at the moment? If that was the case, where does remembering Jesus and his sacrifice come in to play? Where is our focus? Scripture tells us to examine ourselves, right? I believe responding in the traditional Mennonite way puts all the focus back on me. Because “I” have confessed my sins, because “I” have obeyed the standards, “I” have now become worthy. Anyone seeing a problem here? What if we should examine ourselves to make sure that our focus is still on Christ? Remembering that it is HIS sacrifice and not my righteousness that gives me the right to be worthy. Could it be that eating and drinking damnation unto ones self would come when we feel we are “good enough” to partake? What is the purpose of communion? Scripture says, to do this in remeberence of Jesus, that and that alone should be the entire focus. Realizing that without Jesus, we will never be worthy, without his shed blood at Calvary we don’t have a chance.

    What are your thoughts? Am I out in left field to assume that this could be a possibility? Trust me, I wasn’t taught this concept in the Mennonite Church. Yes, we were instructed as we partook of the elements, that this is the body and the blood of Christ, but the prep service and the communion service were all about making sure everyone was sin free. It brought a lot of fear and doubt in my life. When I heard the first person explain it this way it really changed my perspective on communion.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Tim,

      Thanks for your patience with my slow response.

      I think you bring up some very pertinent questions and comments. I can relate to that same feeling of dreading communion for many years. Focusing on ME and whether I am worthy to partake often effectively causes me to lose sight of why I am taking communion. When the focus is on Him and His worthiness to take my place in death, communion becomes a time of gratitude and joy.

      Using public confession (when told that I must) before communion as a punishment for not keeping applications also turns it into something far different from what Jesus intended. I have never found anything in Scripture to back up this practice and I personally have never seen anything good come from it. What I have often seen it become is an almost morbid curiosity of seeing “who is in trouble this time?”– our own version of reality tv.

      “What if we should examine ourselves to make sure that our focus is still on Christ?” That is a very good question to ask ourselves. Are there areas where I focus on myself rather than Him? Is He Lord of every part of my life?

      When my focus is only on myself and what I am doing outwardly, I can deceive myself into thinking I am good enough to partake. And yet all my righteousness is as “filthy rags”. The only way I am “good enough” is to remember that I am not good enough and He was and is.

      Thanks for the good thoughts you brought.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

